More About Yarn and No Unwanted Visitors


I am back!  Earlier today, I wrote a blog post about my experience with a spider and jewelry making project.  Trinilove asked me almost a couple of weeks ago about jewelry making, and with that in mind, I am going to write a post about it this week with some books on the subject and online jewelry supplies resources.  However, I promised to write about more yarn.  Some I have used and some new yarns on the scene.  Upon the last blog post, Lion Brand came out with a couple of new yarns and colors to its line.  Pam Allen, knitter, author, and former editor of Interweave Knits Magazine has a new line of yarn, and Berroco has a new yarn along with a pattern book in its expansive line of yarns.  I am going to talk about the dreaded arylic yarn that I use with some home decor projects.  Debbie Stoller partnership with Red Hearts and created the Stitch Nation yarn line.  I am going to attempt brevity when writing this post, but give you as much information as possible.

Quince and Co. – A new yarn company created by Pam Allen, Carrie Bostick, and Bob Rice.  Pam and Carrie are knitwear designers and an owner of a spinning mill with a bias toward natural fibers decided to create a company where create a line “thoughtfully conceived yarns spun from American wool or sourced from overseas suppliers who grow plants, raise animals, or manufacture a yarn in as earth- and labor-friendly a way as possible. We think we can have our yarn and knit it, too.”  The currently has three yarns and 37 colors.  The yarns are all named after birds, Chickadee is the dk weight yarn with 181 yards for $5.75 a skein, Lark is worsted weight with 134 yards for $5.50 a skein, and Osprey is an aran weight yard with 170 yards for $10.75 a skein.  Three three yarns are 100% wool.  I have not worked with this yarn because I only heard about it only a couple of weeks ago while reading Clara Parkes’ Knitter’s Review newsletter.

Red Heart – This yarn company has been around longer than I have been alive, and the yarn I used when I learned how to crochet when I was a kid.  Yes many of the yarns in the line is arylic, but it’s great for making afghans because although I love wool, it’s not economical or practical for knitting or crocheting a blanket or afghan or caring for it as washing either by hand is not idea either.  Red Heart has put on some new yarns in its line in the past couple of years such as its eco yarn line including the bamboo wool blend yarn that sells for $3.99 a skein, a 87 yard worsted weight yarn.  There is not a yarn in that line that cost over $6.00 a skein making it very affordable for creating afghans, pillows, potholders, and stuffed animals.  The newest line for the company is Stitch Nation, a collaboration with Debbie Stoller to create natural fiber yarns at an affordable price.  There are three yarns in the line, Full O’ Sheep 100% wool, and 155 yards, Bamboo Ewe, bamboo/wool blend, 177 yards, and Alpaca Love with a 80/20 mix of alpaca and wool, 132 yards.  All three yarns are worsted weight at a price of $4.99 a skein.  It is my hope that Red Heart will create fine and dk weight yarns to the line.

Berroco – I love this company more for its pattern books.  Norah Gaughan is the design director for Berroco, and has done a great job at creating designs for the company’s yarns.  The company was once known for its novelty yarn, but has spent several years with creating yarns with natural fibers.  Not to many yarn stores in my area sell Berroco, but it is a good thing that Webs exists for to purchase the yarn at reasonable prices.  When the company creates a new yarn, a pattern booklet is created showcasing the yarn.  I believe Ultra Alpaca is one of the more popular yarns with good yardage at $9.00 a skein for 215 yards worsted weight.

Aussi Wool – This is one of the first yarns I learned how to knit.  It is a nice heavy worsted yarn that comes in the many colors with 126 yards and priced at $6.00 a skein.  It is a hand wash yarn, and it a great yarn to use for felting projects.  It does pill after a while, but it’s the reason why someone created lint removers.  It is a soft yarn to use.

I have more yarns to talk about like Spud and Chloe that is a part of Alpaca Blue Sky, but will save that for another time, and write about my adventures in jewelry making well mostly beading in the next post.  Ciao for now!

2 responses

  1. Thanks for visiting and leaving the wonderful comment you left on my blog. I am going to take your comment to heart and concentrate on knits. As a matter of fact I’m going to put some time in on my knitting machines. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

