Summer Eats


Fried Chicken 001

It’s Saturday and I finally had a chance to cook the chicken I purchased last week on sale at Whole Foods.  i cut the chicken into 10 pieces.  I got the 10 pieces by cutting the breasts in half, and have the back in the freezer for stock.  I took the cooking technique from Christopher Kimble of Cooks Illustrated by making a brine for the chicken and allowing it soak over night.  You can also brine the chicken in the salt solution for an hour, and for overnight use less salt.  The brine solution will make the chicken more tender and also adds flavor.  I also added some cornmeal to the flour to make crust crisper along with some thyme, Spanish paprika, cayenne pepper and salt.  I fried the chicken in batches so that pan is not overcrowded because you will not get a crispy crust if the pan is crowded as the chicken will steam and not fry.  I also put a cover over the pan for five minutes so that the inside of the chicken can cook.   I liked the end result, and here is another tip, you can also soak your chicken in buttermilk for a couple hours for a tangy and tender fried chicken.  Fried chicken should take 15 to 18 minutes to cook and remember that your internal temperature should be 165 degrees.  Off I go to enjoy this chicken and some corn on the cob.  Ciao for now!

One response

Leave a Reply

