Sunday Afternoon and Learning about Canning


I wrote in my previous post that I was entertaining the idea of canning and preserving food after inspiration from Whole Living’s July/August issue. I was thinking something along the lines of peaches, plums, tomatoes, and maybe my own fruit jam. This idea also made dig up my copy of "Canning and Preserving for Dummies" for more detailed instruction of how to can and preserve. The article does give three different canning and preserving recipes, one of which is sour pickles. I am interested in canning tomatoes and making plum jam. The cost for the canning and preserving supplies is between $40 – $80 for a complete boiling-water canning set including the boiling-water canner or similarly deep pot in way of lobster size. You can get the supplies at hardware stores, supermarkets, or Amazon.com or Freshpreserving.com. It is good to note that jars can be reuse, but the flat lids are one-time use only. I think it is great that you can give your preserves as gifts. I am going to make a trip to Ace Hardware store that is about three blocks away for my apartment (love having stores within walking distance) to see if they the canning supplies I need. Of course, making a trip to the farmer’s market for tomatoes, and plums is forthcoming. It is good to keep in mind that before using the jars, you need to sterilize them in hot water even purchasing them for the first time. If you have a dishwasher with a sterilizer component, then you are good to go, if not, having a deep pot of boiling water will work just as well. This is my little lesson in canning, but have more to learn and finding how easy it is do. It is a bit time-consuming and does take up space on your counter, but it is worth doing because you have control of what you are eating and it is great to have tomatoes during the winter months to make sauces and soups.

There are other methods of canning and preserving, but I think the boiling-water method Is the one for me at the moment. There are the drying and freezing methods I probably will learn later on down the line, but I am going to start growing herb inside my apartment. I am going to start out with growing basil, thyme, and rosemary for starters, then branch out with growing parsley and sage if I am successful with growing the first three and if I have enough space on my windowsill. There are many things to do with so little time in which to do them. Ciao for now!



Leave a Reply

