Some Finds


This past week, I stopped by Barnes and Noble to pick up a copy of Nicky Epstein’s “Crochet Flowers” (I will get her Knitted Flowers some other time), and saw the new book “The Handmade Marketplace” by Karin Chapin on the shelves.  Needless to say, I purchased the book as well and glad because of the all the information about how to sell your crafts locally, globally and online along with inspiring stories from some people of the craft world like Amy Karol of the Angry Chicken Blog, and Jenny Ryan contributor blogger for Craft Magazine and Apartment Therapy.  If anyone is thinking about starting a side or full-time business with your goods, I recommend this book.  This book also provides information on how to advertise and marketing your business, creating an online newsletter, teaching a class, and how blogging can drive business.

Now confession time, I have subscribe to at least 200 blogs and listen podcasts while working.  I get to find out some great stuff in the crafting arena.  I came across this website while reading the Handmade Marketplace, the Blonde Chicken Boutique.    Tara, the owner sells colorful eco-friendly yarns, but she also provide others with information about running their own business.  I love her site.

I came across another blogger turned author.  Cathy Erway is blogger and her blog is called Not Eating Out in New York – Consuming less and eating more.  Cathy lives in Brooklyn and blogs about her home cooking other experiences.  The book has recipes and writes about her committment of eating sustainable foods in New York.  This discovery led me to another foodie find called Working Class Foodies on Food Nation TV.  It is a brother and sister living in New York teaching how to cook on a budget.  the videos are very instructional and easy for any other who wants to cook a great meal on the cheap.  The working class foodies also have a facebook page.

I started knitting about five years ago, but really got into it over the past three years with wanting to go beyond the scarf.  After all this time I finally bought Elizabeth Zimmermann’s “Knitting Without Tears”.  I think this reference book will make me a better knitter and allow me to create my own knits.  It is not that I do not like the patterns that are out there, but there is nothing better than creating your piece hanging in your closet and saying that this is my creation.

I did not really do much cooking this weekend, just a simple fish with cheese grits, but thinking about cooking a mushroom ragu with poached eggs and polenta, a recipe from the working class foodies during the week.  I think I have written enough this evening and will write, Caio for now.

3 responses

  1. I wondered about the number of blogs that you follow, it seems like a lot. I only really follow two; yours and Field’s, and I spend more time than I want on the computer. I do hope that you get to the point where you have your own craft business, since you seem to want it so much. Would you knit, crochet or sew? or all three? Was the super able to get the oven calibrated?

Leave a Reply

