Thrifty = Creativity


We going into the third year of a recession and it has been a stressful and traumatic experience for many people.  We had to re-access our priorities and if there is any other time to get creative, this is it.  I mentioned in a previous post about a new book by Erin Bried titled How to Sew a Button: And Other Nifty Things Your Grandmother Knew (I am going to borrow it from the library, remember thrifty) that reminds us what our grandmothers or mothers (if did not have a grandmother) taught us about recycling and recreating.  Hey they were green before it become such trend today.  I know some of you remember our your grandmother or mother saved old grease for later and flavoring it with other foods.  Saving old clothes to use as rags or to do housework (I know I still do that).

My belief is that learning how to things makes you a self-sufficient person.  If I can do it myself, then I take even greater pride in it.  There are many people who do not know how to sew a button, fold a fitted sheet, and unclog a drain with baking soda and vinegar.  I still use newspaper to clean my mirrors and windows with some vinegar and water.  There is nothing else like, in addition you save money on cleaning products and not smell those sometimes toxic vapors.  I remember as a little child when I became interested in crocheting and needle point (I have done needle point since then), the feeling I got to accomplish a goal and doing it without the help of my mother and grandmother (they did not crochet or knit).

One does not think about being thrifty until moments such as this, but I hope it continues after the recession.  There is a sense of value.  There are some clothes that I need to re-fashion and fabric scraps to start a quilt.  Also, as I begin to lose weight, learning how to tailor my clothes is a skill that will come in handy.   Ciao for now.

One response

  1. My family dies of heart disease and related diseases. So I carefully pour the grease into the trash and use a good quality oil. Sigh….

    But old clothes I wore a pair of socks in my thirties that my mother wore in High School in the 1920’s. I am currently collecting old woolen sweaters to make into felted kids sweaters. I have saved old clothes, and saved old clothes with an eye to redoing them as clothes. I don’t mind piece work, but I am not really into pieced quilts. I am not sure why. My mother sewed a little and crocheted some and did a little embroidery. She saved so many, many things and I have become compulsive too. I am watching “Hoarders” on A&E to keep me “inspired” to shift things.

Leave a Reply

