Practicality and Simpliticity


I had a conversation with my cousin over the summer about her Kindle.  She absolutely loves her Kindle because it is portable and do not have to worry about stacking books in your home.  I love the uses of technology, but enjoy having the feel of a book or newspaper in my hands reading on the train or the comfort of my home.  My cousin attempted making the argument of me purchasing a Kindle, but I think I am going to pass on this particularly technology.  I must admit, I could save a lot of space in my apartment but probably will fill my space with one of my hobbies like knitting and crocheting.  I could see the simplicity of having a Kindle that hold possibly hundreds if not thousands of books within reach of your fingertips, but there is nothing like visiting a Barnes and Noble and if I have limited funds, a trip to the public library suffices.

This post is leading to the topic of practicality and simplicity.  As I mentioned previously, I do embrace technology particularly when has anything to do with me learning something new.  The Internet was tool that led me to learn how to knit and re-discover crochet.  However, my research led me into discovering blogs of people who had similar interests and gave me the ability to learn about their joys, frustrations, and mistakes in knitting, crocheting and sewing.  Of course, the web did not end my trips to the bookstores as I can attest to purchasing at least 15 to 20 books on knitting and crocheting, and about 5 to 7 sewing reference and pattern books.

 

Prior to writing this post, I was through the Barnes and Noble websites for craft books, but came upon a book entitled How to Sew a Button: And Other Nifty Things Your Grandmother Knew by Erin Bried who has a website how to sew a button .  I would compare the book to The Dangerous Book for Boys that purchased for my nephew a couple of years ago because he needed to know more than just playing video games.  In Erin’s book, she guides you through on how to fold a fitted sheet, tie a necktie and other resourceful and useful things for a practical life.  I think one of the reasons for the re-emergence of doing things yourself  is the current economy climate and the realities that we can no longer pay people to hem or iron trousers.   Self-sufficiency is back en vogue. 

I found that I become older, I have the need to live a more practical and simple life.  I do not find myself as a conservative person, but one who does not mind finding the divine in simplicity.  Even as I write this entry and listening American Masters about Louisa May Alcott, there is something very simplistic about writing about everyday life and learning something new, actually learning something about me.  That I do love write even if I am not the perfect writer with the best grammar, but it is important that through writing I can express my feelings, ideas, and thoughts.  I think crafting and writing can be the window to the soul and perhaps we can find practicality and simplicity in that.  Well these are my random thoughts for the day.

Leave a Reply

