Chicken Soup and Vacation


It has been a couple of weeks since I have written a post to my blog.  I intended to write during my time on vacation, but as the saying goes you plan and God smiles.  There is always something.  The Friday before I was to leave for my stayaction, I had the sense that I had a temperature, so I went to the pharmacy to buy a thermometer.  I returned to my desk and discovered that I had a fever of 101.6 and ironically writing radio copy for the NYC Department of Health and Mental Hyigene telling people to go their primary care physician and not an ER.  I left work at 4pm to go to the doctor’s office and sat waiting from 4:20 until 7pm before a nurse finally called me into an exam room.  By this time, my temperature went up to 102 and the nurse commented that for a person who has a high fever, I look good, and I said I certainly do not feel well.  A swap was struck up my nose which I cannot stand and discovered it was the flu.  They did not know if it was swain flu, but treated as such.  The doctor gave my a prescription for tamiflu, gave me other instructions such as drink lots of fluids, and get homemade chicken soup (fortunately, there is a Whole Foods a couple of blocks away from the doctor’s office), and I finally left the doctor’s office at 8pm, but needed to fill the prescription (a CVS that has a 24-hour pharmacy is a couple of blocks) and go to Whole Foods to pick up some chicken soup and ingredients for soup for me to make the next day.  Fortunately, the fever broke the next morning and I spent time making some chicken soup, drinking lots of fluids, taking vitamins, and eating soup for almost two weeks.

I spent over half of my vacation being sick, so I did not do much crafting, knitting, crocheting, or sewing, but did end up making some very good chicken soup (it is good for the soul).  In addition to being sick, it rained almost everyday.  At least I did get better to attend my niece’s high school graduation.  I managed to go out a couple of days and picked up the current issues of Inside Crochet and Interweave Crochet, and both issues had some really nice projects to inspire.  I probably will just crochet the hat because it is really nice and stylish.  Well, that is all I have for the moment.  Enjoy your day.

2009-06-30_09.32.30[1]2009-06-30_09.33.58[2]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2009-06-30_09.34.23[2]2009-06-30_09.36.02[1]

3 responses

Leave a Reply

