Hump Day and Some Vintage Crochet


It is Wednesday and more commonly known as hump day. That’s right, I am working away until TGIF which some of us are glad to see to begin enjoying the weekend. I do look forward to the weekend because I use that time to relax, cook, and do some crafting. I knit and crochet during my commute, but the weekend is the time to really get more into it.  I picked up one of the books I mentioned last week, Vintage Crochet and saw a few things I wanted to add to my to things to make list.  I think this twinkle lampshade is so cute, although I see using different colors.  I also like this popcorn stitch cushion also in different colors.

Lampshade

Popcorn-stitch Cushion

However, the project that caught my eye in the book is the Nico Dress designed by Dee Clinch.  I believe some of the designers in the book are from Great Britain.  It is a shift dress that is an adaptation of an original 1960s design.  So the bodice is worked in double crochet and the skirt in panels of “Irish” crochet motifs.  Here is the definition of the techinque:

Irish crochet is a type of lace, which has its origin in the famine years of the 19th century in Ireland. Charity groups sought to revive the economy by teaching crochet lace technique at no charge to anyone willing to learn.[citation needed] This type of lace is characterized by separately crocheted motifs which were later assembled into a mesh background. Other types of Irish crochet include Rosslea and Clones lace.

Nico Dress - Front

Nico Dress - Back

Nico Dress Stitch Pattern

However, this modern version is like Irish Crochet, but I think it is very pretty and since I am losing weight I have this visual to work toward a goal to continue and keep going.  The dress is crochet in one size from 8-12 and will be nice for a spring/summer dress. 

Hump day are not so bad when you have something to look forward to.  Enjoy your day.

3 responses

Leave a Reply

