My Wish List


Yesterday after work, I decided to browse through Borders Books to see what is new in reading material.  The Cook Yourself Thin hit the bookselves this week, it is the companion cookbook to the new Lifetime series of the same name.  However, I could not resist walking over the craft books section to what I could find in the way of crocheting, knitting, and sewing.  The section is very small and all of the books are crammed together on the selves.  A knitting book could be right next to a sewing book, and I wonder how are could it be to organize the section, but that is another story for another day.  I saw a few books that caught my intererst.  A couple of the books are a couple years old, but it was my first time ever seeing them.  The first book is called “Vintage Crochet” which was first published in November 2007.  This book has some very nice vintage look pattern, but one pattern that caught my eye is a crochet lace dress with flowers to give it a third dimensional look.  The pattern is only done in one size that fit people in the size 8 to 12 group.

51XsDs0ItIL__SS500_

 The second book that caught my attention is another crochet pattern called “Embellished Crochet,” and the tunic on the cover had me right away.  This is definitely not your grandmother’s crochet.  I have to see if this book is available at the library so that I can make a copy tunic pattern on the cover and a couple of other patterns in the book.

13968730

Here is a knitting pattern book with embroidered and embellished knits called “Beautiful Embroidered and Embellished Knits.  I have always wanted to learn how to use beads and other embellishments in knitted garments.  There are some really cute projects in this book and I have been in the mood for being a little more artsy in my crocheting and knitting.

33494032

Another book is specific to different kind of stitch in crochet called “Tunisian Crochet”.  Tunisian crochet is sometimes called the afghan stitch and is considered by many to be a cross between knitting and crochet.  The distinctive fabric created by this technique looks almost woven instead of either knitted or crocheted.   Tunisian crochet is typically worked on a long hook with a stopper on the end –  similar to a knitting needle that also has a stopper on the end so that the stitches held on the tool do not fall off.   Here are a several points about tunisian crochet from the website Crochet Cabana

 1) Never turn your piece. You work down the row on the right side, then back on the same side. (If you want to turn your piece then you might be interested in working with the cro-hook which is basically tunisian, but you turn your work, and uses two colors – and it doesn’t curl.)
2) Always begin the second half of a row by pulling yarn through one stitch only. After you’ve completed the first stitch, pull through two stitches at a time.
3) The last stitch remaining on the hook is always the first stitch of the next row.
4) Always skip the first bar when starting on a new row.
5) You will always be working with the same number of stitches as established on the chain (unless you are doing a decrease or increase)
6) Increases and decreases are worked only in the first half of the stitch row.
7) To decrease curling, purl your first row.

34009800

I have other things on my wish list as well.  A dedicated craft space with a visualization board with my desk, computer, sewing machine, serger (serger on the wish list), and fabric stash, knitting yarn and notions.  The color of the room would be blue, green and white with all my craft books and last but not least a stereo with music from everyone from Chopin to Three Doors Down to Indria Arie.

I guess these are my thoughts for the day.  Enjoy the day and what is on your wish list.

One response

Leave a Reply

