Is it Possible to Make Money from my Hobby?


Some people take a while with finding their passion and I am not an exception.  As you know one my of biggest hobbies is knitting and crochet along with being a beginner sewer.  I have often thought about having a side business because it is a way of keeping myself occupied and possibly making some extra money on the side.  I thinking more and more about taking my hobby combining with the idea of simplicity.  I want to make unique things for people to buy, yet functional, practical, and aesthetically pleasing.  I also want to make, but price my products that are affordable.  I am thinking along the lines handcrafted items with a Target perspective.  If am not willing to pay $150.0o for a baby sweater than I do not think the average consumer will want to do the same.

I have a business idea of creating custom items and some ready made.  It would be a great idea people who like to do something in advance such a baby blanket for baby shower gift, creating organic baby t-shirts and diapers kits, or just handmade gift for other special occasions such as graduations (such as knitting a sweater as a present for my niece), bridal showers, and weddings such as hankerchiefs, approns, tea towels, etc.  I guess it would be a custom gift-giving business. I am still hatching out the idea.  There are a few things I have to do to make this work.  One, is horning in on my craft because it is important to be good at what I do and take pride in it and this mean taking a some classes, second, do some research and create a business plan (I am a left-side and right-side thinker), and third is craving out time to make this happen (time management and organizational planning).  I already have a name for my side venture, Henna’s Place which I think it’s catchy.  What do you think?

10 responses

  1. Henna’s Place is a great name and a great idea!

    Have you thought about creating your own shop on “Etsy”? http://www.etsy.com/ . You could start with a small number of items for sale and increase your range gradually. Customers can commission you to make one-off items too. This may be a good way for you to start.

    I wish there had been this sort of opportunity to sell handmade goods 12 years ago when I was on maternity leave – to make a little extra money I used to crochet babywear and sell it to a local shop. I earned (almost literally) pennies for what I made and the shop sold my garments for extortionate prices! These days I would have been able to sell the items myself online for sensible prices and a sensible profit!

    Good luck with your venture and keep us posted!

  2. Oh yea, almost forgot to mention that if you do buy your own website you can also make money with Google Adsense. Have you ever seen on a website that is showing “ads by google” at the bottom or top of an ad. If you put an ad like that on your site through Google Adsense you make money every time someone clicks on that ad. If you sign up with a PayPal Account you can use their system so people can pay for your products with a credit card. There are also free ways to advertise your website too, just type in google or yahoo search for the term “free advertising” and you will find multiple sites for this. Hope this can be of some help, if you’d like any more just shoot an email.

  3. Good Luck! I like the name; it is what made me come and look from some of your comments at “the fields.”

    It is so nice to have the internet to market as these other people suggest. I woman that I used to work with made money crocheting baby blankets. That is all she did and it was just one wretched pattern, you know the one giant granny square. I do not know how she priced them, but word of mouth kept her in orders on and off for years. So I would think that there is an underlying demand for hand made things that really nice stylish hand made things could find a niche.

  4. Google AdSense – Anyone can sign up for this service and 100% free to use. Google will display ads on your site and pay you when they get clicked on. This is by far the easiest way to make money with your site.

  5. Starting an etsy shop is a great idea and now there is a new API out there that integrates with etsy (and will with other sites in the future). It’s called soopsee (http://www.soopsee.com). With them you can have your own site where they will pull your etsy listings etc. You can also have your own domain (from godaddy or from soopsee). It’s in beta right now but if you have an etsy store you can sign up! Best wishes!

  6. i probably would not have thought this was great a handful years ago however its funny precisely how years alters the manner by which you have an understanding of quite a number of creative ideas, many thanks with regard to the piece of writing it is pleasant to look over something clever now and then instead of the routine garbage mascarading as blogs and forums on the net, cheers

  7. Hi, I am very creative in creating things from things around the house. I have created magnet items from literally anywhere. I have christian and motivational items. I was wondering how to market my items. I believe people would want to see my items. Very reasonable and cost effective. If anyone has any suggestions on how I can market them please email me. I look forward to hearing back from you.

Leave a Reply

