Knitting Projects and others happenings


In addition to having some kind of knitting ADD (I have a few projects going on now), I managed to take in a movie on Sunday.  I saw “The Secret Life of Bees,” and thought it was a good story and well-acted movie.  It is sort of a chick flick but without the romantic comedy.  I am not going to give away what happens in the film, and some of you may have read the book some time ago.  I have to say movies for women can be few and far between especially for African-American women in dramatic roles, and it is up to us as consumers to come out and see these films.

Now for the knitting projects.  I am currently working on a sweater using a new yarn from Cascade called Greenland which is a super merino wash yarn using a 9 knitting needles.  The sweater is knitted from the top down without sewing any seams and probaby will take me a few weeks to complete the project.  I am working on another pair of wrist warmers using Sublime organic merino wool on size 6 double pointed needles.  The pattern for the wrist warmers can be found on www.thepointnyc.com should want to knit a the toasty warmers for yourself as it is getting chilly.  I woke up this morning and it was 42 degrees in New Jersey.

I purchased yarn for my crocher muffler project from the fall issue of Crochet Magazine.  I didn’t want to purchase yarn suggested because it’s $40.00 a skein and that is a little expensive for me.  So, I purchased The Fibre Company’s canopy sport yarn which is $14.00 a skein which means I can make the project for $28.00 versus $80.00 (add for $4.00 and I could make three mufflers at that price). 

From all these projects, I managed to crochet a hat in the process which I am wearing today because it’s just a wee bit chilly.  Well that’s it for the time being.

Leave a Reply

