Michaelmas Mitts and Others


 

After completing my first sweater, I am now entrenched in knitting.  I typically work on a knitting project and probably will not knit anything else for a few months.  However, I gotten into the pattern knitting almost on a daily basis.  Of course, I do not everyday because my fingers may fall off, but my knitting is on a regular basis.

 

I finished my cable scarf and probably will post the photos soon, and now here are Michaelmas Mitts from the fall issue of Knit Scene.  It’s my first time knitting any project from a magazine although I 50 magazines about knitting and crocheting.  I purchased the yarn yesterday.  The store did not carry Blue Sky Alpaca Suri Merino, but Mission Falls 136 Merino Superwash wool prove to be a great substitute.  It’s soft with a nice sheen, and picked the color pistacio.  It think it’s nice color and the photo probably will not do it any justice.

I also picked up the new Debbie Bliss magazine yesterday, and love it. There are some projects like the knitting bag and a reversible baby blanket that looks great.  Of course, they are sweaters, but also enjoy the tea cozy project as well.  I think working within proximity of two yarn shops probably attributed to my recent knitting frequency.  Upon my visit to the yarn shop yesterday, I noticed a particularly yarn is featuring for the month, Rowan Cocoon.  It’s a blend of 80% merino wool and 20% mohair, and you could make a sweater with 8 balls on 9 needles.  The yarn is soft and the yarn has an exclusive cable eyelet-rib pullover sweater pattern as a promotion in the month of September.  Unfortunately, The Point Cafe does not have the ability to shop online, but people who live in the New York City area can visit the shop.

 

I think it’s all for tonight.  While it nice to blog again, it’s being a long four days at work and I should get ready to watch Real Time with Bill Maher.  I need to a good laugh before bed time.  Ta Ta!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response

Leave a Reply

