Just Released or New Books of Every Kind


To say that I own a lot of books would be an understatement.  I enjoy reading fiction, nonfiction, how to craft books, language books, and even keep a dictionary and thesaurus in the in addition to the Bible, Qu’ran, and Torah.  I probably will get the Vedas Hindu Scriptures, books on mythology as I love reading about philosophy and religion.  It’s important for me to be a well-rounded person because I know about the world around me.

Of course, I cannot afford to purchase every book, it’s good that I have NY Public Library card to borrow books.  The economy tends to changes your perspective about what you can and cannot afford.  However, I do purchase at least seven to eight books a year.  There was a time when I would purchase at least three to four books each time I was paid, but no longer happens.

There is one book I like to purchase, and that is Sharon Okey’s new knitting book ” Alt Knits.”  She has created knitting patterns for knitting green fiber alternative such as bamboo, hemp, and soy.  I have some experience knitting with a soy/wool blend fiber from Patons, and thought it was soft, had sheen, and easy to knit with.  I think it is a book to add to my knitting book collection, and made the decision to purchase the book when it’s released in September.

Another book I am interested in reading that I probably will borrow for the library is Curtis Sittenfeld’s book “American Wife.”  The protagonist is a woman name Alice who much her surprise falls for a charismatic named Charlie Blackwell who is a republican and she a democrat.  She finds herself as first lady in the middle of her husband’s controversial and tumultuous second term in the White House.  Alice asks herself some hard  questions as how can she both love and fundamentally disagree with her husband.  It think this may be a fascinating read.

Book Cover

Another book I am looking forward to read is entitled “Someone Knows My Name: A Novel by Lawrence Hill.  I enjoy reading historical fiction especially with such books as “Beloved” by Toni Morrison and “The Known World” by Edward P. Jones.  Hill writes a life story about an African Muslim girl sold into slavery and not only how she survives physically, but emotionally.

Book Cover

Speaking of Toni Morrison, she has a book coming out in November entitled “A Mercy,” story set during slavery during the 1680s and a mother who casts off her daughter to save her, and of a daughter who may never exorcise that abandonment.  Anyone who reads Morrison knows that her stories are generally complex, but none the less excellent reads.

Book Cover

I have read David Sedaris’ book “Talk Pretty to Me,” and couldn’t put it down and was one of the most profoundly funniest books I read.  He newly published book “When You Are Engulfed in Flames” is no different than his other books written.  The book is a collection of essays with David using life’s most bizarre moments.

Book Cover

These are a few books that I want to read and add to my ever expanding collection, and I hope you get a chance to visit the library or you can borrow books online.  Yes you can borrows like NetFlix.  Here are a couple of sites http://www.bookswim.com and http://www.booksfree.com,  You can generally borrow at least two books at a time for a monthly fee of $9.99 with no late fees, unlimited and return the books and they will send others from your reading list.  That’s if you are unable to make the trip to the public library.

 

One response

Leave a Reply

