Practice, Practice


 

 

With my second day of vacation, I looked through some of my current magazines to see what projects that I would like to crochet, knit, or sew.  Today I received my copy of the fall issue of Sewing Today looking at some new patterns of dresses that I would love doing.  Some of the projects are knit and it’s probably a good thing sense the fabric that works with being flexible.  Let’s face knit is probably most people’s best friend, and it’s mine.

I also noticed from the fall issue of Knit Scene a pair of Michaelmas Mitts and fell in love with them.  Making seems like an easy and quick weekend project and I love the idea of them having buttons.  So today, I practiced by knitting a swatch to get an idea of the stitches and the pattern was very easy to learn, and decided to purchase the yarn next week to knit them in time for the fall.  I also decided to crochet the sweater from the Crochet Today magazine cover in my Saturday’s post and I did a swatch on Sunday, and it’s very pattern to follow.  It’s a griddle stitch with single and double crochet, and with each single crochet you will double crochet, and with each double crochet you will single crochet.  It may sound a little confusing, and it’s reason why I needed to do a swatch to get an idea, and the swatch look like the pattern on the cover.  I priced the yarn for the project and it’s about $15 – $17 a skein depending on which yarn store you purchase from, but considering that I only need two skeins and a small project that it’s not bad and I could splurge little on the mitts.

I also need to keep a track of the projects I want to start, and perhaps I see an organizational scrapbook of the projects to start, in progress, and completed.  I probably need to have two one for knitting and crocheting, and the other for sewing.  I am in the process of purging and cleaning while on vacation, so it’s probably a good time for me to do that project as well.  That’s it for now, practicing, purging, and organizing.

2 responses

  1. Hello hennasplace!

    I stopped by your blog before and I left green with envy because I always wanted to learn how to sew, knit, crochet, etc. hehe

    I used to go to fabric stores, look at the fabric, and then run out screaming after browsing the patterns. I must say… it certainly is a talent. LOL

    I actually wish I knew somebody locally who did such work. Imagine being able to find a favorite bag, outfit, etc. and get it made in a unique fabric??? Sure, it will cost more, but sometimes you gotta pay well to get good.

    Have a great day!
    Hawa from Fackin Truth Blog.

Leave a Reply

