What’s in Store


The other day, I picked the current issue of Sew Simple magazine.  The issue has a cover of a tote bag with a bold fabric pattern, and I decided to make such a bag for myself.  It was not my intention to find the exact fabric, but synchronicitycame into play and much to my surprise I ended up finding that fabric.  I typically do not have the luck of finding any of the fabric or yarn suggested in magazines, and if it does happen it’s too expensive.  Fortunately, in this particular case, the fabric was not that expensive considering I only need a half a yard.  However, as simple as the project is, I made a muslin bag, and discovered a couple of ideas and options.  I am going to use to make a cardboard for the bottom of the bag and use a stabilizer because I want the bag to be little stiffer for durability.   There is also the thought in my mind to use handles or make them from the same fabric than of a contrasting one.  I think bamboo or wool handles would be nice with the bag, and thinking about adding a couple of inches to the bag as well.  Perhaps making a case to place my pens and other nick nacks.

I also purchased the current issue of Crochet Today.  I brought it because of the sweater on the cover and because I wanted to start making more crochet projects in addition to my knitting and sewing.  I love this sweater because the colors are not necessarily what one would think of a fall colors, but it’s a good idea to way fun colors in the fall and winter.  Amazing enough the projects are made from Red Heart yarns. although, I would imagine you could use a substitute yarn if you perfer to use bamboo, wool, or natural yarns just as long as it is the same weight suggested in the instructions.  I would actually wear the sweater and hat together in a different color combination, but like the colors for the hat and sweater.

 

My vacation has arrived and already I am contemplating some projects that would be great do or get started for the season.  As I am writing this blog entry of how it would nice to use the same colors for the hat and sweater, and make a pair of denim trousers or a navy blue jersey knit skirt.  That would great to wear to work or on the weekend meeting friends for brunch.  There are quite a few options to think about.

2 responses

  1. I’m glad to see that you’re getting a chance to do some sewing. 🙂 And of course, knitting. 😀

    I think it was wise of you to test tye pattern by making a muslin first. That way you can work out all the kinks. 😉 I can’t wait to see the finished bag! 🙂

Leave a Reply

