Entering the World of Burda?


A few weeks ago, I wanted to see all the excitement about Burda Magazine.  I have been reading blogs and sewing pattern review with people talking about creating clothes from Burda Magazine with patterns that comes with each month.  I decided to inquiry about subscribing to the magazine, and so I received a free May issue magazine yesterday in the mail.  Now I see what the excitement is about.  It’s a very trendy (in a good way) and stylish fashion that would be the envy of all your friends.  I like the accessories article in the magazine, and seeing all of the new sunglasses that would make you glamorous for the summer.  Of course, tracing a pattern will probably seem a little foreign to me, but I probably will figure it out and check the Yahoo group Burdg English to get some ideas as the best way to trace.  I think it’s also worth the $80 to subscribe because you get a lot of patterns with each month.  Of course, one may sew everything in the month, but it’s nice to choose from an array of patterns.  I will start out with a six-month subscription, but committing to a year.

I picked up the new Belle Armoire Art to Wear – May/June issue.  There is an article about Joan McGowan, owner of White Lies Designs and author of Knitting with Style.  I love her designs and how she manages to knit and creates style for all women from 2 to 32.  There is another good article about making hats, nice flapper-inspired hats with a modern flair.  I also have my summer issue of Interweave Knits to see all the knit designs.  There are times when I wish I was independently wealthy and not work again, then I can stay home and knit, sew, and do other creative projects.

On the changing my eating habits front.  I managed to transition from drinking soda to drinking tea and juice and milk.  Yes, I drink juice and milk because they are packed with nutrients like vitamins, calcium, and antioxidants which soda does not have.  I do drink water, but not eight glasses because tea has water as I do not use sugar, milk is made up of 80% of water and fruit juices as well.  Since, I eat more fruit and vegetables, they are packed with a lot of water.  I make sure that I eat breakfast if it only means me picking up yogurt with fresh berries and granola on top, and eating an oz of nuts mid-morning.  I am also intentionally having vegetarian meals two or three times a week, and adding fish into my diet at least three times a week.  Once, I have a regular eating routine, then it’s on to exercise.  I am walking for the time being, but need to add things like weight training and pilates or yoga into the mix.

Where I guess that’s all I have for today.  Have a good day everyone!

2 responses

  1. I’ll be curious about your opinion of Burda patterns. I have never used those particular patterns, although I know lots of seamstresses really enjoy working with Burda.

    It sounds like you’re well on your way to a healthier lifestyle, which is great! 😀 I also think you’re very wise to start slowly by first changing your eating habits and then incorporating exercise. I need to get back to my own regular exercise routine since it’s been interrupted for a couple of weeks.

    I love tea, too, and while it is water based, it also has caffeine in it, which will dehydrate you. I drink tea, juice, decaf tea, green tea, and water during the day.

Leave a Reply

