The Weekend


I had an opportunity to Thursday night to see Terrance Howard and James Earl Jones in the broadway production Cat on a Hot Tin Roof directed by Debbie Allen.  The cast also included Phylicia Rashad and Anika Noni Rose.  It is the first all African-American cast in this Tennessee Williams’ play and perhaps some of you saw the movie version with Elizabeth Taylor and Paul Newman.  I’ve always like the story and it was my first time every seen it acted on stage.  It was a great cast and Anika who played in Dreamgirls did a great job carrying an almost 25 minute monologue.  Terrance was a great as Brick and 10 second partial nude scene in the shower at the opening had many women at the theater a little excited.  

In other happenings, I purchased a book for my nephew entitled Elijah of Buxton by Christopher Paul Curtis.  It is a story of an 11 year-old boy named Elijah born into freedom in Buxton, Canada, a settlement of runaway slaves just over the boarder of Detroit.  A former slave steals money from Elijah’s friend. who had been saving money to free his parents in the South.  Elijah decides to go on a dangerous journey to America in pursuit of thief.  I think it is a good story for kids from 9 – 12 of age, and the book is the winner of Newberry Medal for children’s books.    

I have a confession, I am addicted to buying patterns and purchased this top when McCall’s website had it’s $5.99 sale Friday and Saturday.  I really like the A pattern with the slash.   Actually, I brought three patterns all together, but this top really caught my eye.   Now, there I have to some fabric to make this fabulous top.  Have a good weekend everyone!

 

 image of M5625

3 responses

Leave a Reply

