Knitting, Reading, and Other Plans


It has been a few days since writing and posting the last blog entry.  I have been a little busy with the finishing touches of my sweater project, started working on a baby blanket, and planning to sew a diaper bag.  In the mist of all thse projects, I have been listening and watching the election coverage, and catching up on some reading.  I am currently reading two books, Obama’s The Audacity of Hope, and a wonderful book by David J. Garrow an historian entitled Bearing the Cros – Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference.  Yes the title is long, and the book is more than 750 pages long (that includes bibliography and index), but Garrow writes a great biography the King and SCLC during the civil rights movement.  The book was first published in 1987 and won a Pulitzer Prize, and Garrow gives a honest portrait of the civil rights movement.  If you are bit of a history buff, Bearing the Cross is an important book to have in your library along with another author who wrote a triology about King, Parting the Waters: America in the King Years, 1954-63, Pillar of Fire: America in the King Years, 1963-65, and At Canaan’s Edge: America in the King Years, 1965-1968.  Should read these books, you probably will meet your reading quota for the entire year (just kidding, but they are comprehensive books to read.

I have been keeping a running list of all the projects I like to do this year, and realized that my little Brother’s XL 2600 my not be up for the task, so I am thinking about getting another sewing machine (comupterized) at a good price.  However, I will give it a great deal of consideration as my pocketbook is the deciding factor into my decision, and there is no great urgency as the current machine works fine for the small jobs.  I still have to purchase fabric for the diaper bag and cover, and found a website called Erica’s (www.ericas.com) that has some great stuff for craft projects.  That is all on my mind for the moment.

One response

Leave a Reply

