A New Book Find


Today, I went to one of my favorite places, Barnes & Noble.  My manager was kind enough to give me a generous gift card to Barnes & Noble and was more than glad to use it.  I did not make to the fabric store, but I might the trip after work.  Well, I pick up this book entitled Sensual Knits by Yahaira Ferreira who owns the on-line boutique Pure Knits.  The books consist of 25 projects by different knitwear designers.  If you are going to purchase the book, it is probably best do it on the website as it cost $12.00 on-line and $18.00 at bookstores (DRATS! I paid the $18.00).

I love a lot of the projects in the book and according to the author an advanced beginner should be able to tackle these projects.  However, you can purchase the book Knitting Patterns for Dummies which I found very helpful, and there is always the Bitch n Stitch groups one can visit to ask more experienced knitters.  I fell in love with balloon sleeve jacket on the cover, and it luxurious and sensual.  The book also has a few dress patterns and a great opportunity to use alpaca, angora, cashmere, merino, or silk wools.

Another find is a magazine called Belle Amoire – Art to Wear published by Stampington & Company.  The magazine prints bi-monthly and I saw the front cover with that elegant and sophisticated apron.  That apron is something you greet your guest at the door and dare not use while cooking.  I suppose aprons are making a serious comeback and there is an article about the woman to creates them for her business.   Well, that is all I have for now.  Take care everybody.

Leave a Reply

