Friday and other Happenings


I must admit that I have not done any knitting or sewing this week, but it continues to stay on my mind the list of projects that need to be completed. I have been catching up some reading particular magazine articles from the New Yorker and Harper’s Magazine for have I a need to know what is going on in the country and around the world. I watched a heart-wrenching documentary on HBO about the situation in Darfur entitled “Sand and Sorrow” narrated by George Clooney. What I find so amazing how people can get so involved in politics and concerned who is going to control the land that we lose our sense of humanity in the process. I remember first hearing about Darfur in 2003 on BBC as the United States did not cover the story until some months later. Darfur is a very complex story with many rebel factions and the Sudanese government’s involvement of displacing and killing its own citizens making a distinction from Arabs and non Arabs persons (although both groups practice Islam). It is very unfortunate that we have yet learned from past mistakes and continue the perpetuation of violence of the poorest citizens of the world. It is with great sadness that the powers that be find these citizens dispensable and it is an fortunate truth that I wish one day no longer exist. This really makes the scandal of the use of steroids among baseball players seem trifling in the grander scheme. If anyone is interested in learning more about Darfur Don Cheadle (Actor) and John Prendergest has a written a book entitled Not on Our Watch: The Mission to end Genocide in Darfur and Beyond, you can visit www.enoughproject.org.

Well enough of my preaching, I have no plans of doing anything this weekend which means catching up some cleaning for the holidays. I purchased a magazine yesterday that I have seen many times, but have not brought. The publisher is Somerset Studio which publishes a variety of magazines that include mix media, scrapbooking, and blogging. I brought the paper and mixed media edition which has some very inspirational ideas of holiday cards and ornaments. I think am going to subscribe to Belle Amoire and possibly Artful Blogging magazines (I need to have a more artful look to my blog). Belle Amoire focuses on handmade garments, jewelry, and accessories and I want to learn more about felting fabric. Well that is it for my ramblings today. Happy Friday Everybody!

One response

Leave a Reply

