Cranberry Sauce and other Ramblings


I went grocery shopping today to purchase all the fixings for Thanksgiving dinner this coming Thursday.  Of course, I start preparing my menu with making cranberry sauce.  It is seems to be the opinion of some people that is far easier to open a can of cranberry sauce and call it day.  However, for me cranberry sauce from the can usually tastes like the can and what is the purpose of cooking a wonderful home cook meal only to dump sauce from the can.  So I decided to make cranberry sauce and to my surprise the easiest thing I make from the entire menu.  Cranberry sauce is easy to prepare with 3/4 cups of water, a cup of sugar, and a bag of fresh or frozen cranberries.  Just boil the water and sugar, add the cranberries, reduce the heat, and simmer for 5 to 10 minutes, put sauce in a bowl, the in frig and chill.  The sauce can be made a couple of day in advance.There are times when I make different variations such as adding apples or pears.  You can add orange juice, allspice and cinnamon.  You can use brown sugar instead of white sugar, but don’t use anything like a splenda because it will not chill.  Cranberry doesn’t have to be difficult to make, and it significantly better tasting than the can.  In addition, you will know what is in the cranberry sauce because you made it, and do you really want to eat something from a can that has been sitting on the shelf that only the bugs and insect knows how long it has been there.  Something to think about.  

5 responses

  1. you are right, natural is always better. my dh just like the can thing, I guess it is what his mom always used so that itself is a tradition. I don’t eat cranberry sauce but if he will try it homemade I will do it for him

  2. I agree that the fresh cranberry sauce sounds so much better than the canned type. My husband and mother are the only ones who eat cranberry sauce around here, but yours sounds so good and easy that I just might try making it this year. And I just might like it! 😉 Thanks for sharing the recipe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

