Thanksgiving is Fast Approaching


Okay, Thanksgiving is fast approaching and finally sat down to write out my shopping list for my menu.  I decided on making roasted Brussel Sprouts, but could very change that to green beans (not that green bean casserole).  Of course, the menu consists of candied yams, cranberry sauce, cornbread stuffing, giblet gravy, and potato sour cream biscuits.  My dessert is still up in the air, but I am leaning towards apple or the cranberry pear oatmeal crumble, either way it will be a simple recipe.  Cooking is my first passion and I can not believe that I have been doing it for more than 30 years.  Yes, I first started cooking at the age of 11 and been cooking ever since, and preparing Easter, Christmas, New Year’s, and Thanksgiving meals for about 20 years.  I use make collard greens for Thanksgiving until my brother did something silly.  It was over ten years ago, I gave my brother ten dollars to purchase the greens for me (I gave him the money four days before Thanksgiving).  I finally told him that he needed to get the greens because it was already Wednesday.  Now believe or not collard greens were cheap and you can get a few bunches for under a dollar.  My brother came back to the house the night before with a garage bag full of collard greens (he spent all of the money I gave him).  The bag was huge and I spent two hours on the floor cutting up and cleaning greens and vowed not to make them again.  Needless to say I was annoyed with my brother because he did not help and it was the last time I sent him anyway to purchase produce for me.

I am going to share a recipe for rolls that I made about nine or ten years ago, but I must warn you that it is a seven hour preparation time.  The rolls will come out nice and fluffy.  They feel like clouds and very easy to make because there is two 2 1/2 rising.  However, you can try this recipe when you have time.  Actually, you make the rolls and do other things between the risings.  I first saw the recipe on Cooking Live on Food Network.  Here is the recipe and decide for yourself:

Georgine’s Fluffy Rolls

Recipe Courtesy of Saveur Magazine Cookbook: Saveur Cooks Authentic American

 
 
 
1 1/4 cups milk
1/4 cup vegetable shortening
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 7-gram packet active dry yeast
2 eggs, lightly beaten
4 cups flour
3/4 cup melted butter

Combine milk, shortening, sugar, and salt in a saucepan and cook, stirring constantly, over medium heat until sugar dissolves. Remove from heat; set aside and allow to cool.

Mix yeast with 1/4 cup lukewarm water in a large bowl; set aside until yeast dissolves and little bubbles begin to appear on the surface, about 10 minutes.

Pour cooled milk mixture into yeast. Stir in eggs and gradually add flour, stirring with a wooden spoon until dough is too stiff to stir, then use your hands to knead in the flour (dough will be sticky, so grease your hands with a little butter). Brush a small amount of butter on the inside of a large bowl and on one side of a sheet of waxed paper. Place dough in bowl, cover with buttered waxed paper, and lay a clean damp dish towel on top. Set aside to rise until doubled, at least three hours.

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Knead until elastic, then roll out to 1/2 -inch thickness. Cut dough with a 3-inch biscuit cutter, dip each round into melted butter, and fold in half. Line up, round edges up, sides touching, in a baking pan. Cover with buttered waxed paper and a towel, and set aside to rise, at least 2 1/2 hours.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bake until golden, about 15 minutes. Rolls are best served warm

 

Recipe Summary
Difficulty: Easy
Prep Time: 7 hours
Cook Time: 15 minutes
Yield: about 2 1/2 dozen

User Rating: 5 Stars

 
 
 
 

 

Episode#: CL9226
Copyright © 2006 Television Food Network, G.P., All Rights Reserved

I have to prepare by cleaning the refrigerator, oven and stove, get out my roaster for the turkey, and stop by the farmer’s market to pick up some fresh marajam, rosemary, sage, and thyme for the turkey and stuffing.  I have to get to market early because it’s just like a one-day sale at Macy’s and have to fight the other women for the last dress you want on the rack.  Needless to say, very little knitting and sewing will happen during the holiday.

3 responses

  1. It sounds like you are a great cook and really enjoy the process. Good for you! 🙂 I am a fairly good cook, but I don’t enjoy it as much as you do. I’d rather sew. 😉 😀

    My family is small so I don’t have too much preparation this year. My hubby always smokes a turkey, so that takes the biggest job away from me–I just make the side dishes and desserts. One of my family’s favorites is dressing and I use my mother’s recipe, which is the best I’ve ever tasted. 🙂

  2. This year my wife decided to have a dry run thanksgiving day to test out her recipes. We soaked the bird in a brine solution she got at William Sonoma, it really kept it moist. OMG, the turkey was so good and I get to do it again in a few days!

Leave a Reply

