New Craft Magazine Find


I can not begin to you how many magazines I purchase on knitting, sewing, and general crafts.  I also subscribe to Everyday with Rachael Ray, New Yorker Magazine, O Magazine (and O Home), More, Body and Soul, and Fast Company.  Let’s just say I love magazines.  So today, I went to Barnes and Noble to purchase the new December/January issue of Threads Magazine.  I was deciding to get the Winter issue of Interweave Knits (but will get that next week) until a new Magazine called Make It Mine came into view.  The premier issue has different ideas to embellish clothes, accessories, and home.

There are some really creative ideas to embellish things you are already own or plan to make.  The three things I like from this issue comes from the article Spice Up Your Skirts, 6 Great Ideas to Inspire You, one particular skirt can be made from neckties.  Yes, by finding coordinating ties, you can sew them together and make a skirt.  I thought if you can make a skirt with neckties, I wondered if the same technique could be used with scarves or perhaps strips of fabric (think I am having an Ah Moment!).  Another idea I like from the magazine is making a totebag from paper.  Yes, I can recycle my magazines and newspapers by making them into the totebags and use them as gift bags.  The third article I enjoyed was about needle felting which is also called dry felting.

I have to say I really enjoy reading and learning from this magazine, and I also like Adorn Magazine which also has great ideas along with a regular article the places to visit and shop in different cities.  There is also a wonderful project for making a Russian coat.  You are taking an existing coat and embellishing it with the Russian style, or you can use that idea and create something that fits your personal style.

If you are anything like, a magazine hoarder, then you can check out Make It Mine’s website at http://www.makeitminemag.com and the read the blog as well.

One response

Leave a Reply

