Oh Mine!


After two weeks of waiting patiently of receiving some books I ordered, it finally came this afternoon except the books I order did not arrive.  Instead, I received the wrong books.  Although, I am all for learning new things, canning and preserving is not one of them.  I do not understand how I received a book about canning when I ordered Essential Baby Knits and Vogue Sewing.  I am also dismay by the fact that I have failed to receive the two Butterick patterns after ordering them over two weeks ago.  My patience must prevail through all the little mishaps, and the realization that is not the end of the world as things can be corrected.  I will simply returned the wrong books, and will contact Butterick by phone to see what happened to my order.

It is raining today in New Jersey as result of the residual from tropical storm Noel, and now there’s rain and wind (mostly windy).  This is a good day to stay inside and do some knitting and sewing, or perhaps see a movie.  Yet, there is no reason why one should not do them all as it is the weekend.  After, I have yet to see Tyler Perry’s “Why Did I Get Married,” as it is still doing well at the box office.

Friday night, I went to see American Gangster with Denzel Washington and Russell Crowe and thought it was a good and well-acted movie to watch.  Washington portrays Frank Lucas, a real life person who was a big-time heroin dealer in Harlem from the late 60s to mid 70s before getting arrested for conspiracy to distribute illegal drugs.  Lucas brought his drugs directly from the wholesaler in Bangkok with the help of a cousin station there during the Vietnam War, and transported the drugs in the coffins of dead servicemen coming home in military planes.  Lucas eliminated the middleman which enabled him to sell his drugs at a cheaper price and of better quality than his competitors.  Crows plays the detective who works to bring Lucas down, Lucas later becomes an informant to bring down corruption in the police department in New York City.  It was a good movie, yet disturbing film for those Washington fans who do not like seeing him play the bad guy.

Well I think that’s all have to write today as I should get some other work done today.  Have a good day everyone!

2 responses

  1. While I’m not especially fond of rainy days, I agree with you that they’re very good days for staying in and sewing (and knitting since you also like that).

    I’m glad you had a good time at the movies Friday night. My husband and I rarely go to movies, but around Christmas time, there are usually two or three that I would like to see.

    I hope you get your book order corrected soon.

    Happy Sewing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

