What to Except Shopping at the Fabric Store


Today, I needed to make a trip to the fabric store to pick up some elastic, twill tape, and a couple of zippers for a pair of pants and skirt.  During my lunch hour, I walked up to a fabric store to pick up these few items.  However, the store not only sells fabric and notions, but yarns as well.  They have nice selection of Lionbrand yarn (except for Vanna’s Choice), but Bernat and Patons.  The moment I walked into store, my eye gravitated to a particular Patons yarn called SWS which is made from 70% wool and 30% soy.  I felt the yarn and liked the texture with a nice silky soft feel.  Of course, I brought six skeins for $36.00 (the store had a special, it was orginally $7.99 a skein) it after making the decision of what color.

I almost forget the reason for coming into the store, but gain my composure to purchase the items.  However, it doesn’t stop there, I also needed eyes and hooks (for the jacket and dress), point turner and seam creaser (for my belt and other corners), yarn needles (can’t have too many of those), cable needle (learning how to create cable stitches), and two 9 bamboo circular needles 24″ and 29″ (I think the owner knew I was a bamboo kind of woman).  Needless to say, I ended up spending more money than intended, but another way of looking at it is that what I spent will produce a couple of articles of clothing that would have cost me three times amount if I were to to purchase them from a retail store.  In addition, the making something and seeing what created at the end is like the Mastercard adage says is priceless.

Lastly, I listened to the new Yarncraft podcast yesterday and didn’t expect to hear my name acknowledged (I didn’t many people was reading my blog) the podcast on my blog.  I just it was so good and glad to hear a host is a beginner knitter interview knitwear designer and discuss all things knitting.  There was a wonderful episode with Fitted Knits author Stefanie Japel discussing knits that fit the couture of a women’s shape, and a segment on inspiration and doing an inspiration poster.  There is all kinds of inspirational things out in the world and inspiration is all it takes to get you creating.

One response

Leave a Reply

