MIDWEEK – THANK GOODNESS


I decided to change the format of my blog after noticing that it seem crowded.  I think this format looks better and much easier to view and read.  Anyway, it’s Wednesday or hump day as some people may call it and it’s been a cloudy and rainy day.  I decided to listen to my iPod during my commute to and from work.  I have artists such as India Arie, Cornine Rae Bailey, Lizz Wright, and Paul Simon’s Graceland.  There is a song on the Graceland Album I consider my favorite and needed to here today.  The name of the tune is “Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes” which Paul Simon singing and featuring the group from South Africa Ladysmith Black Mambazo.  I happened to find a video of a concert they did in South Africa maybe 20 years ago, and just as great live.  I do have an affinity for world music because the language is universal and it doesn’t matter if the artist is singing in a different language.  I did have an opportunity to see Ladysmith Black Mambazo in concert a couple of years when they tour in the US, and what a treat.  One of the peaks of working at a radio station is getting an opportunity of being offered tickets to concerts and shows (and it’s FREE).  However, I thought would share this video to give folks the energy to make it through the rest of the week.  Enjoy!

2 responses

  1. You are welcome Elaray, I love that song and the Graceland Album. You can you believe that were listening to albums 20 years ago, and now CD are becoming obsolete with downloading digital music from iTunes. Thank you for reading my blog, and I have to read your blog as well.

Leave a Reply

