Website Review – My Shape


I like to read magazine as with others who read them discover new products, services and get ideas.  I came across a little tidbit in the July 2007 issue of O Magazine about a website called My Shape (www.myshape.com).  The concept of My Shape is finding clothes that fit your body type that flatters you.  My Shape devised seven body types to determine what clothes flatters your figure best.  You can enter your body measurements, the site calculates and determines what body type works for you.  I copied the body types so you can get an idea:   
Women with softened, straight figures and fairly straight shoulderlines. They have rounded bottoms and the difference between their waist and hip measurements is 7 inches or more.

Broad-shouldered women with proportionally narrow hips and less defined waistlines.

Women with curvy front and side profiles as well as softened shoulderlines, whose waist measurements are at least 10 inches smaller than their balanced bust and hip measurements.

Women whose shoulders and hips are generally in line with each other and whose waist measurements are within 6 inches of their hip measurements. Often with flat bottoms in profile.

Women whose hips are broader than their busts and shoulders.

Women with busts larger than their hips and whose bottoms tend to be flat rather than rounded.

Women with rounded profiles whose waist measurements are proportionally larger than their more balanced bust and hip measurements. They’re often short-waisted and long-legged.

My Shape has a personal shopper that chooses clothes for your body type so you can shop online (there are some very nice items), and the clothes are appropriate for all ages.  You can either shop online or get an idea to make the clothes if you are very particular about what you wear. various body types.  I suggest that you give My Shape a visit and see if it helps you flatter your shape.

9 responses

  1. Be aware that they do not do exchanges as they state in their policy. Instead you need to wait for a credit, reorder the item, request any promotional pricing again and request the use of any credits that have been issued. I will not shop with them again as their written policy is a lie and they only tell you that afterwards. My experience has been long, frustrating and will not be repeated.

  2. Hi Jennifer,

    I shop regularly with MyShape and it says on their website the following about exchanges:

    6. How do I make an exchange?
    Technically, MyShape does not make direct exchanges. If you have purchased an item that you would like to exchange for a different item, you will need to return the original item and place a new order for the item you would like to purchase instead. Please see our return policy and procedure for complete details on how to complete a return. If you have a question about an item you would like to exchange that you purchased using a promotion code, please contact our Customer Care team at customercare@myshape.com or 888-626-0309.

    In my case I returned some items and just ordered the new item. I have to say that maybe it makes a difference if you are really signed up as a member?

    I enjoy MyShape a lot, I cannot wait until it is summer so we have the bright colors back again.

  3. Has anyone had luck with myshape.com, I have an account but have not ordered anything. I am leery because they recommend sizes to me but when I go to say, Spiegel to see THEIR size chart, it says I am a much different, and BIGGER size, than myshape is recommending.

    • Hi Michelle:

      I do not the answer to that question. It is more about your body type than dress size as manufacturers sizes vary. You may have to go up a shape and have the garment altered as nothing you buy commercially will be a perfect fit.

Leave a Reply

