The Turtleneck Poncho Project


 

p1010004.JPG

I started my knitting project of turtleneck poncho (cape). It didn’t start out well as I managed to get the yarn twisted he circular needles which meant starting from the beginning. I remembered a tip from one of the Knitty Gritty episode about knitting in the round on circular needles. Cast on a straight needle and transfer it to the circular needle to prevent yarn from twisting.  I used the technique with great success and coming out well.   I took some photographs to see the progression the project.  Seeing it coming to together, I didn’t follow the directions to the letter with using size 9 36in circular needles than 10 29in.  As the I begin to decrease the stitches, I will need to switch to a 9 24in circular needles, and 9 double pointed needles for the turtleneck.  A thought occurred to me while knitting that it would look nice to do this poncho with glass beading.  Of course this idea came in the middle of working on the project (I am not starting over).  But all is not loss as I can knit another poncho and add beading to the border.   Now I have challenge myself and knit a sweater and get the shaping of the armholes, agh!

 

 932.jpg

6 responses

  1. It looks fabulous. But I really, really have to finish the filing of taxes, and estate and and…. before I can even think of trying something. How long did it take you to finish?

  2. Pingback: knit

  3. I drop a leave a response whenever I like a article on a
    site or I have something to valuable to contribute to the discussion.
    Usually it’s a result of the passion displayed in the post I looked at. And on this post The Turtleneck Poncho Project | JUST HANGING OUT AND CREATING. I was actually moved enough to drop a thought 😛 I do have 2 questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Is it just me or does it look like like some of the responses look like they are
    left by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are posting at
    additional social sites, I’d like to follow everything fresh you have to post. Would you list every one of your social sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

