Cowl Madness and Busy Season


I hope everything one had a good Thanksgiving.  Now we are into one of the busiest times of year, the advent season.  Yes, we are busy with holiday parties, shopping, and working.  I have an event and a sales retreat next week, and attend a couple of holiday parties before Christmas.  I had tickets to be in the audience at the Martha Stewart Show, but due to high attendance, I rescheduled for another date in January.

I finally brought a couple of books to add to my ever growing library and yet still thinking about getting the Nook, but haven’t made a decision because I love the idea of having a book in my hand and reading.  I don’t like reading from a computer screen and causes eye strain which probably one reason I am wearing reading glasses, but I digress.  I brought Cowlgirls by Cathy Carron the other day and received it today.  The book has 41 patterns of cowl to knit that another from the beginner to advance knitter can knit.  I posted some photos of cowls from the books, but I have to say that I could knit at least 20 projects from this book and I do not feel that way about every knitting pattern book I buy.  I love knitting cowls because it’s a great alternative to scarves, and you can place around your neck without worrying of losing it.

IMG_20101202_200918

IMG_20101202_201119

IMG_20101202_201252

IMG_20101202_201315

IMG_20101202_201547

IMG_20101202_201413

IMG_20101202_201637

IMG_20101202_201737

Just is eye candy

IMG_20101202_200748

I also purchased the book “Keys to Good Cooking – A Guide to making the Best of Foods and Recipes” by Harold McGee.   McGee is the NY Times columnist who writes the column “The Curious Cook” and author the classic book “On Food and Cooking”.  I recommend this book to all home cooks beginners and experienced.  The book details everything from how to pick asparagus to storing leftovers.  It is best refrigerate leftover quickly than slowing cooling can stimulate growth of harmful microbes.  Actually that does make sense, but I am not alone in saying that I have broken that rule and few others I probably didn’t know exist, and that’s the reason for getting reference book about cooking.  I have to say that they are no recipes in this book along with no photographs and illustrations, and I’ve learned a lot from watching America’s Test Kitchen on PBS.   Since I want to improve my cooking skills, this book will be useful for me in this goal.  Also, in an interview on Fresh Air with Terry Gross, McGee stated that the two tools that cooks should have in their homes in is a thermometer and a scale.  I thought about it and realized that it does make sense in determining proper cooking time and knowing the weight also plays a factor in cooking.

IMG_20101202_201929

I think I am going to call it day as tomorrow is Friday and that’s a good thing because I am a little tired.  Ciao for now.

One response

Leave a Reply

